No Texting & Driving in Vermont
Vermont was the 27th state to implement a law making it illegal to text while driving. The law also bans drivers 18-years-old and younger from using handheld cell phone devices. The law is designed to reduce Vermont car accidents created by distracted driving.
The Vermont texting law took effect on June 1, 2010, and has since banned all drivers from texting while driving. Drivers face a $100 fine for the first offense and a $250 fine for repeat offenses that occur within a two-year period.
Special penalties are imposed on drivers 18-years-old and younger who are caught using handheld cell phone devices while behind the wheel. Younger drivers run the risk of losing their learner's permits or licenses for 30 days, if caught.
April is the official National Distracted Driving Awareness Month. The campaign is designed to shed light on the dangers of driving while distracted.
Hurt in a Vermont distracted driving accident?
If you or someone you know has been injured in a car accident caused by a distracted driver, contact one of our experienced Vermont car accident attorneys at the law offices of Van Dorn, Curtiss & Rousseau, PLLC at (603) 556-4148.
Call us today to order a free copy of our book, Navigating the Minefield: The Essential Guide to Your Vermont or New Hampshire Accident Case.